#### TRAFFORD COUNCIL

Report to: **Annual Meeting of the Council** 

Date: 24 May 2017 Report for: **Decision** 

**Chief Executive** Report of:

### **Report Title**

#### APPOINTMENTS TO OUTSIDE AND INDEPENDENT BODIES

#### Summary

To agree the appointment of representatives to outside and independent bodies relating to the service areas and functions of the Council.

Additionally, there is a more extensive list of outside and independent bodies whose activities relate to Executive functions. The appointments for these bodies will be made by the Leader of the Council/Executive, independently of the Council.

#### Recommendation(s)

- That approval be given to the appointment of representatives to those outside and independent bodies set out in Appendix 1 to this report.
- 2. That the Chief Executive, in consultation with the relevant Group Leader(s), be delegated authority to appoint members to any outside body vacancy that remains or arises after this Annual Meeting and to any other bodies to which the Council is required to make appointments (and to report back to Council on any changes or new appointments so made).
- That the Council approves the persons named in Appendix 2 to sit on the Statutory School Appeals Committee for the 2017/18 Municipal Year and that the Director of Legal and Democratic Services be delegated authority to make changes to this list and to set up School Appeals Committees, including the appointment of Chairmen.

Contact person for access to background papers and further information:

Name: Ian Cockill Extension: 1387

Background Papers: None.

## TRAFFORD BOROUGH COUNCIL

#### REPRESENTATIVES ON OUTSIDE BODIES AND ORGANISATIONS

#### **PERSONS NOMINATED - 2017/18**

#### APPOINTMENTS MADE BY THE COUNCIL

Org	Organisation		Number of Representatives		2017/18	
			Required	CON:LAB:LD	Nominations	
1.	Greater Manchester Combined Authority (GMCA) / Association of Greater Manchester Authorities (AGMA)				Councillor(s)	
	(a)	AGMA Executive Board	1	1:0:0	Sean Anstee	
			(Leader of the Council plus 2 named substitutes from the Executive)		Substitutes: Alex Williams John Lamb	
	(b)	Asylum Seekers Executive Board	1	1:0:0	AGMA Executive to determine	
			(Appointed by AGMA not a Council nomination)		(Mrs. Laura Evans)	
	(c)	GMCA	1	1:0:0	Sean Anstee	
			(Leader plus substitute)		Substitute: Alex Williams	
	(d)	GMCA Audit Committee	1	1:0:0	GMCA Executive to determine	
			(Cannot be the Leader)		(Chris Boyes)	
			(Appointed by GMCA not a Council nomination)			
	(e)	GMCA / AGMA Scrutiny Pool			No Appointments required at this time	
	(f)	Greater Manchester Health	1	1:0:0	Mrs. Patricia Young	
		Scrutiny Committee	Non-Executive Member		Substitute:	
			(plus Non-Executive substitute)		Mrs. Angela Bruer-Morris	
	(g)	Greater Manchester Pensions Fund Management Panel	1	1:0:0	AGMA Executive to determine	
		-	(Appointed by AGMA not a Council nomination)		(Alan Mitchell)	

Organisation			Number of		2017/18	
			Represe Required	entatives CON:LAB:LD	Nominations	
			Required	OON.LAB.LD	Councillor(s)	
	(h) Greater Manchester Police and Crime Panel		1 1:0:0	1:0:0	Mrs. Laura Evans	
			(Cannot be the Leader)			
	(i)	Greater Manchester Reform Executive	1	1:0:0	John Lamb	
			(Executive Member with responsibility for Public Service Reform)			
	(j)	Health and Social Care Partnership Board	1	1:0:0	Sean Anstee	
		r drilloromp Board	(Leader plus substitute)		Substitute: John Lamb	
	(k)	Planning and Housing Commission	1	1:0:0	AGMA Executive to agree final membership	
			(Member to be drawn from Planning and Housing Portfolio holders)		David Hopps	
	(I)	Statutory Functions Committee	1	1:0:0	Bernard Sharp	
					Substitute: Chris Boyes	
	(m)	Transport for Greater Manchester Committee	3*	2:1:0	Robert Chilton Mrs. June Reilly*	
			*Spokesperson to be nominated		Labour nominee	
2.	Greater Manchester Fire Committee		2	1:1:0	Michael Whetton  Labour nominee	
			i. 1 Member from the majority party (1 <sup>st</sup> choice) and 1 Member from the opposition group.		Edocul Hominoc	
			ii. GM Mayor to appoint 1 member (1 <sup>st</sup> choice) from each LA and 5 additional members from the pool of 10 (2 <sup>nd</sup> choices).			
3.	Greater Manchester Waste Disposal Authority (GMWDA)		2*	2:0:0	John Holden Michael Young*	
			*Spokesperson to be nominated			
4.	Local Government Association - General Assembly		4	3:1:0	Sean Anstee Mrs. Laura Evans Alex Williams Labour nominee	

Organisation		Number of Representatives		2017/18 Nominations
		Required	CON:LAB:LD	
				Councillor(s)
5.	Manchester Metropolitan Boroughs Pest Control Council	2	2:0:0	Paul Lally Brian Shaw
6.	Manchester Port Health Authority	1	1:0:0	Bernard Sharp
		Deputy: Brian Shaw		
7.	National Society for Clean Air and Environmental Protection	2	2:0:0	Mark Cawdrey Brian Shaw
8.	North West Employers	1	1:0:0	Brian Rigby
	(plus Deputy)		Deputy: Nathan Evans	
9.	Statutory School Admissions Appeals Committee	(See appendix 2 attached – not Council members)		

# STATUTORY SCHOOL ADMISSION APPEALS COMMITTEE - PANEL MEMBERS FOR 2017/18

#### **Lay People:**

Mrs. Bailey Miss D. Jones
Mrs. Bracegirdle Mr. Munday (Chair)
Mrs. Bracedstock Mr. Baddon

Mrs Broadstock Mr. Padden Mr. Christie Mrs. Reed

Mrs. Finn (Chair) Mrs. Smith (Chair)

Ms. Hall (Chair) Mr. Turner

Mrs. Hargreaves Mr. Wright (Chair)
Mrs. A. Jones (Chair) Mr. Whitehead (Chair)

Mr. Jones Mrs. Woodward

# People with an Interest in Education:

Mrs. Coulburn Mrs. Javaid
Mrs. Dee Mrs. D. Jones
Mrs. Foan (Chair) Mrs. Kelly
Mrs. Groves Mrs. Peters

Mr. Hall (Chair) Mrs. Quest Mrs. Hassan Mrs. Sher (Chair)

Mr. Hassan